A Way to Relieve Writer’s-Block

It seems like only a week since my friend Emily left this planet,
But it was actually 5 years and 2 months ago.

The last conversation we ever had was online when I turned to her and her magnificent poetic intellect, asking how she cures writer’s block–“if (she) ever really even had it”, I said.

She told me to write her a haiku about panda bears, skating.

So I did:

Black and white and bold
Skating in the winter cold
Pandas have my soul.

It worked.

A haiku is a poem where every line goes in the order of 5 syllables, 7, then 5 again.
This is now my only method of “writer’s-flow initiation”.

Leave a Reply

